Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31232

League Specific 2/6/2017

RE: competive Under 16

Mohamed Essa of damanhour, El-Behira Egypt asks...

if two goals are scored and both of them shouldn't be allowed and the opposing team substitutes a player who got two yellow cards in the previous two matches and is considered an ejected player cause the match after it's finished to be restarted or the violating team to be disqualified!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mohamed
If a goal is scored it is up the referee to decde if the goal should be allowed or not. If the game resarts with a kick off then the goal counts and there is no going back.
As regards who is eligible to play that is not a matter for the referee. The match card is returned to the competition organisers with the list of players, the score and any disciplinary action taken during the game. Should a team play an illegal player the opponents will no doubt protest the decision to the competition organisers who will adjudicate on the appeal.
Now the competition rules will decide what the sanction is for cautions and sending offs plus the sanction for playing an illegal player. If a player was to play while suspended the league committee will decide what sanction should be taken which could be that the team is sanctioned and loses the game or the points are awarded to the opponents if it is a league game or perhaps the game is replayed. Perhaps the player was not suspended in which case there is no sanction.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mohamed,
I am not sure on what basis you are saying that the goals should not be allowed. In the normal course of events, whether any goal should be allowed is up to the judgement of the referee. If you mean that it's because the ineligible player was on the field already, then as ref McHugh points out, that is not a matter for the referee.

It would be up to the competition organisers to decide if the player was eligible or not and also what sanctions to take if the team had in fact fielded an ineligible player. In my experience it is common for a team in such circumstances to forfeit the match in question which in the case of a knock-out competition, would mean they were out, so in a sense disqualified, although it's not the term I would use. In a league setting however, I think it would be rather unusual for a team to be disqualified from the entire competition just for fielding one ineligible player in one match though they might well forfeit the game and possibly be docked points and/or receive a fine.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Essa,
the referee is the arbiter of justice when it comes to deciding if a goal is awarded. The referee has up until the restart of play to take away goal if there is reason in his opinion to do so . But once play is restarted with the kick off it is a done deal . UNLESS the goal is a result of a verifiable misuse of the LOTG. IE a PK was awarded for the keeper handing a ball on a pass back or an INDFK is awarded inside the 6 yard goal area 1 foot from goal. These are contrary to the LOTG they are NOT an OPINION on a fact of play i.e. the foul was inside the PA not outside or that was a deliberate handing by the defender not accidental resulting in a PK or the offside player did affect play but the goal was permitted! You can not protest a mistake that is based on an opinion on a fact of play.

ONLY a violation of the actual LOTG where the restart is not in line with why play is being affected.

For example lets say I award you an INDFK for offside by a PIOP who actually travelled back into his own half to affect play. The correct restart is an INDFK inside the opposition half, (yes a new wrinkle but true) but lets say your kicker hammered a long ball directly into the opposition goal(the ball touched no body) which the referee allows and then restarts with a kick off. That goal stands BUT in the protest it is likely the match could be replayed BECAUSE the referee erred in applying the LOTG.
UNLESS the referee was to maintain that he thought the keeper got a finger to it and thus no protest because now it is simply an opinion on a fact of play and there was a 2nd required touch.

As to illegal players. While the ROC (rules of competition) have bylaws that regulate, punishment, sanctions or fines the referee is not responsible for who is or who is not eligible to play in a match other than the authority to administer match conditional justice based of the LOTG. The referee might have an id card pregame session off a match roster for which he recognizes who is or is not a player or a legal substitute. He might become aware of the situation and record it in the match report but it is the league disciplinary committed which will decided if there is to be replays, forfeits or disqualifications. The referee is mandated to expel any player in HIS match with a double yellow card but that not apply to previous match discipline. His Match His Decision His Reputation!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31232
Read other Q & A regarding League Specific

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.