Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31262

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 2/15/2017

RE: Adult

Murray of Dingwall, Scotland United Kingdom asks...

If a player stops his run at the end and fakes to shoot while taking a penalty it is a yellow card. However does he get to take the penalty again or should an indirect free kick be awarded to the opposing team? If it is an indirect free kick when was this changed?
Thank you murray

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Murray
The Law has been updated here. Once the action of the kicker results in a caution with a yellow card shown any goal is disallowed and the restart is an indirect free kick from the Penalty Mark. It is also an IDFK if the penalty kick is missed. The Law was updated in June 2016 with the major rewrite of the Laws of the Game. Before that it was a retake if a goal was scored and an IDFK if it was missed.
I might also add that if a penalty is retaken because of encroachment by the goalkeeper the referee must caution the GK before the kick is retaken.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Murray,
As Ref McHugh states, the law on this has changed. The new wording states that in the scenario of:

''feinting to kick the ball once the kicker has completed the run-up (feinting in the run-up is permitted) ...''

[...]

''play will be stopped and restarted with an indirect free kick, regardless of whether or not a goal is scored''

The law also says the kicker is cautioned.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31262
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.