Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31271

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 2/16/2017

RE: Adult

Mehdi of Mashhad , Khorasan Iran asks...

http://video.varzesh3.com/video/133870/گل-پنالت'-به-سبک-مس'-طارم'؛-پرسپول'س-سپاهان

Hello. Would you as a referee allow this goal to be counted or should it have been replayed?

Thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mehdi,
In my opinion the penalty kick should have been retaken. Not because the ball was played to team mate of the kicker (that part is perfectly legal, since the ball went forward) but because the player who eventually put the ball in the net was less than 6 yards from the ball (probably closer to 5 yards) at the time the penatly kick was taken. If he had been the only person encroaching, the outcome should have been an indirect free kick to the defending team but since there were players from both teams who were less than the required distance away, I would have gone with a retake.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mahdi
The goal should not have been allowed. Both teams have encroached closer than 10 yards before the kick was taken which is an infringement of Law 14. As both teams infringed Law 14 the goal should have been disallowed and the kick retaken. perhaps on a direct kick at goal where ta minimal amount of encroachment is seen as trifling yet in this situation it was significant given what unfolded
Now why did it happen. If one looks closely at the video the referee has his focus on the ball, the kicker and the goals which is somewhat similar to the first camera angle where we cannot see the scorers position at the moment of the kick. The referee does not see the encroachment as the players come from behind his angle of view. However he could ask as to how a player can get to within two yards of the ball within say 1 to 2 seconds of the kick if he is 10 yards away when the ball was kicked? That would be world record sprinting although without seeing the actual encroachment he decided to ignore it. Encroachment at penalty kicks is probably one of the most ignored offences.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mehdi.
The goal score had already encroached by 5 yards at the time the PK was taken. Now we do see some degree of encroachment by both teams occurring ALL THE TIME and ignored as the trifling impact on the PK is considered weighed and discounted by the official, allowing the result of the PK to stand!

THIS is NOT one of those times!

The players other than the kicker and goalkeeper must be:
# at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the penalty mark
# behind the penalty mark
# inside the field of play
# outside the penalty area

The encroachment had a DIRECT effect on the outcome that was too blatant to be ignored. The penalty arcs' SOLE purpose is to delineate the TEN yard distance away from the PK spot required by the LOTG. You CAN NOT cut through the penalty arc area until AFTER the ball is played just as you can not cut through the 18 yard PA area .

Whether you are convinced the defending team was equally culpable in encroaching along with the attackers simply ignoring the encroachment is in fact NOT following the LOTG that require a MINIMUM of ten yards by all players to be away from the PA spot.

While the referee is the final word on facts of play and goals scored, this is at the very minimum, a retake. I fully expect the officials to be chastised in the post game review for not doing so! In a single referee recreational match perhaps it get overlooked, perhaps, but there is zero excuse for missing this in a fully vetted 3/4 man team officiating at that level.

Once the referee has signalled for a penalty kick to be taken, the kick
must be taken. If, before the ball is in play, one of the following occurs:
the player taking the penalty kick or a team-mate infringes the Laws of the
Game:
# if the ball enters the goal, the kick is retaken

The sad thing is it really is that simple!

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31271
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.