Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31289

Law 13 - Free Kicks 2/23/2017

RE: Competive Adult

Bill Shaw of Pinckney, Mi USA asks...

I have a question on a pass back to the goalie by the defending team. If the goalie is standing on the six yard line, is the ball place at this spot because it's where the goalie committed the foul?
This means the goalie and most likely his teammates are going to stand on the goal line inside the goalie net. Am I correct in the restart in this situation.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Bill
You are correct. If the offence happens inside the goal area or on the line the IDFK is taken from the six yard line. Defenders plus the goalkeeper must then be on the goal line inside the goal posts or 10 yards from the ball if outside the posts.
In other instances the IDFK is taken from the location of the offence. So if it was 8 yards from the goal line that is where the IDFK is taken from with the same law applying to the location of defender, either 10 yards from the ball or on the goal line between the posts



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Bill,
It kind of depends how you look at it. The law says that the indirect free kick is taken where the offence occurred unless committed by the defending team inside its own goal area when it is taken on the goal area line. Since the line is part of the area it encloses, the restart can be seen as being either where the offence occurred or on the 6-yard line because the offence occurred inside it. The end result is the same.

With the kick being taken on the 6-yard line, you are right in saying that the defenders are allowed to be on the goal line between the goal posts.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Bill,
you are spot on mate!
NO INDFK can occur CLOSER than 6 yards from the goal line for an INDFK awarded INSIDE the goal area or on the goal area boundary line per the special circumstance that are attributed to this 6 yard area. On ANY INDFK from closer than ten yards from the goal, the defenders (includes the keeper) must be standing ON the goal line itself under the crossbar and between the posts!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31289
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 31296

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.