- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 31289
Law 13 - Free Kicks 2/23/2017
RE: Competive Adult
Bill Shaw of Pinckney, Mi USA asks...
I have a question on a pass back to the goalie by the defending team. If the goalie is standing on the six yard line, is the ball place at this spot because it's where the goalie committed the foul?
This means the goalie and most likely his teammates are going to stand on the goal line inside the goalie net. Am I correct in the restart in this situation.
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
You are correct. If the offence happens inside the goal area or on the line the IDFK is taken from the six yard line. Defenders plus the goalkeeper must then be on the goal line inside the goal posts or 10 yards from the ball if outside the posts.
In other instances the IDFK is taken from the location of the offence. So if it was 8 yards from the goal line that is where the IDFK is taken from with the same law applying to the location of defender, either 10 yards from the ball or on the goal line between the posts
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove
It kind of depends how you look at it. The law says that the indirect free kick is taken where the offence occurred unless committed by the defending team inside its own goal area when it is taken on the goal area line. Since the line is part of the area it encloses, the restart can be seen as being either where the offence occurred or on the 6-yard line because the offence occurred inside it. The end result is the same.
With the kick being taken on the 6-yard line, you are right in saying that the defenders are allowed to be on the goal line between the goal posts.
Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove
View Referee Peter Grove profile
Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson
you are spot on mate!
NO INDFK can occur CLOSER than 6 yards from the goal line for an INDFK awarded INSIDE the goal area or on the goal area boundary line per the special circumstance that are attributed to this 6 yard area. On ANY INDFK from closer than ten yards from the goal, the defenders (includes the keeper) must be standing ON the goal line itself under the crossbar and between the posts!
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31289
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...
See Question: 31296
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.