Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31316

Kicks From The Penalty mark 3/6/2017

RE: Competitive Adult

Matt of Salt Lake City, UT USA asks...

Situation: DURING kicks from the mark, the visiting goalkeeper is injured. The goalkeeper is legally replaced by a substitute from the bench.
Question: May the new goalkeeper attempt a kick from the mark?
IF NOT, is the home team required to 'reduce to equate' since now the visiting team has only nine eligible kickers?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Matt,
If the goalkeeper being replaced has not already taken a kick, the new goalkeeper can take a kick in the current round of kicks. If the outgoing keeper has taken a kick, the replacement keeper would have to wait until any subsequent round(s) of kicks (if applicable).

A team only has to reduce to equate if they have ''a greater number of players than its opponents'' which is not the case here, since the keeper has been replaced.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Matt
Referee Grove is spot on. As both teams have the same number of players on the field of play there is no requirement to reduce to equate. That only happens in the case of a greater number such as if the GK could not be replaced
Second point is that the GK can only be replaced if there is a substitution still available to the team. If the substitution takes place the GK only has to take a kick when all other team mates have done so.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31316
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.