- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 31316
Kicks From The Penalty mark 3/6/2017
RE: Competitive Adult
Matt of Salt Lake City, UT USA asks...
Situation: DURING kicks from the mark, the visiting goalkeeper is injured. The goalkeeper is legally replaced by a substitute from the bench.
Question: May the new goalkeeper attempt a kick from the mark?
IF NOT, is the home team required to 'reduce to equate' since now the visiting team has only nine eligible kickers?
Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove
If the goalkeeper being replaced has not already taken a kick, the new goalkeeper can take a kick in the current round of kicks. If the outgoing keeper has taken a kick, the replacement keeper would have to wait until any subsequent round(s) of kicks (if applicable).
A team only has to reduce to equate if they have ''a greater number of players than its opponents'' which is not the case here, since the keeper has been replaced.
Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove
View Referee Peter Grove profile
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
Referee Grove is spot on. As both teams have the same number of players on the field of play there is no requirement to reduce to equate. That only happens in the case of a greater number such as if the GK could not be replaced
Second point is that the GK can only be replaced if there is a substitution still available to the team. If the substitution takes place the GK only has to take a kick when all other team mates have done so.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31316
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.