- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 31322
Law 7 - The Duration of the Match 3/7/2017
RE: Competitive Adult
Mike of Montreal, Qc Canada asks...
The referee extends the first half to complete a PK awarded. The kick is sent toward the goal, but only slightly which allows an attacking teammate to run onto the ball and score.
What is the correct decision and restart?
Goal and whistle end of first half
Goal, opposing team kicks off and whistle is Bian to end half
No goal whistle end of half
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
As no further play is allowed under the Laws other than the kick and its subsequent outcome determined the referee in your scenario will stop play when the ball is passed forward only and end the half. No follow up play is allowed.
Now prevention is better than the cure here so the referee here should clearly advise the kicker and those around the area that the single kick is the last action of the half. It might even be helpful to ask the players to stand well back from the penalty area in such a situation.
The alternative for me is to add on the few seconds from the award of the penalty to when the kick is taken as time lost. Penalties are rarely awarded in the last second of a game. I have seen penalty awards where the kick is taken and the referee restarts play to then end the half / game.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson
it will depend on if the referee has EXTENDED the match or is simply adding time for a free kick to be taken!
EXTENDED time means there is NO more time to be added. So once
the PK kicker hits the ball off the spot only the opposing keeper is in play to the final outcome, all 21 others are NOT permitted to participate. The referee should INFORM them that the PK is an EXTENDED PK not that he is adding time after it is taken to await an outcome!
If he is permitting a bit of subsequent play then it is NOT an extended PK merely a normal PK and the follow up play is fine as long as it does not break PK procedures!
An extended pk can ONLY occur in the last few seconds of a match where no time remains for anything but a kick at goal. If there is sufficient time for a follow up a referee CAN add that time to the PK after the kick as added time be it a few seconds for a rebound or a kick off if a goal is scored!
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31322
Read other Q & A regarding Law 7 - The Duration of the Match
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.