Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31339

Kicks From The Penalty mark 3/12/2017

RE: Compeditive Under 13

Derek Wynne of Galway, Galway Ireland asks...

Penalty Kick:

A game drawn 1:1 after extra time goes to penalties. After 5 penalties each the score is Team A 4:3 Team B, so Team A should be the winning team. However the referee has miscounted and believes that the score is 4:4. He continues with the sudden-death part of the penalty shoot-out and the game ends at 5:6 awarding the win to Team B.

After the decision it was brought to the attention of the referee, who upon checking his notebook confirmed his mistake and immediately informed the teams that Team A were the winners.

A bit of a mess :-(, Team A, initially confused and disappointed, now happy. Team B initially confused and happy now disappointed. Team B appealing to the league to have the original result stand.

What is the correct outcome?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Derek
A poor error by the referee. However it does not change the FACT that Team A won the game on penalties as the score was 4-3 with five penalties taken by both teams. I assume that is not in dispute and the referee will confirm that score in his match report. Once confirmed by the referee the Laws of the Game state that the outcome is determined on five kicks and that if scores are tied then sudden death applies.
The team were not tied after five kicks so what happened after that was irrelevant and there is nothing to protest about once the referee confirms the score after five kicks each which was 4-3. Ultimately the League will decide based on the referees report. He will set out what happened and confirm the FACTS.
Team B can be somewhat upset that it had to go on with kicks and then thinking that it had won. Being upset about a wrong calculation though is not the basis of a protest. I do not even know what could be protested? The FACTS will speak from themselves and that is indisputable which will be in the referees report.






Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


Hi Derek.
in as simple as it sounds to keep track of the first 5 kicks or UNDERSTAND that when it goes to sudden death if after 5 shots the two teams are tied that both teams get a go REGARDLESS if the one shooting first scores first.

I have witnessed in at least ten matches where it seems this simple process goes astray

source .

The referee
Flipped a coin between the sudden death shootout and the 5 aside kicks to change the order of play.
Also one flipped a coin that did not change the order of play .
Declared a winner after the team scored on the 6th shot without allowing the other team to take their 6th shot .
Forgot who shot and permitted a player to go twice.
Added the number of misses to be hits and hits to be misses so wrong team declared winner .
Miscounted the number of shots and forgot so he redid the whole shootout over.
Insufficient light so he called it after the first team scored wrote them in as a winner without actually finishing 5 apiece . When a referee errors in the basic procedures it sets up possible problems

In your situation the referee will not decide who won, the facts of play that he chooses to submit will decide. The key would be the referee realizing the score after 5 shots apiece was 4 to 3 and that he had NO REASON to continue. I doubt any protest would succeed given the league disciplinary committee would be looking through the documentation the referee had of the event and whether the information was HIS decision not derived from a non neutral source. It does suck when a mistake occurs but the truth sets us free if it is in fact true. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31339
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.