Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31347

High School 3/14/2017

RE: High School

Mike of Lebanon, CT USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 31335

Follow up to the scenario in the referenced question. I was doing a JV HS game a year or so ago (dual system..ugh!). I was lead and the attacker had a ball coming into him around the 6. I was well positioned about 4 yds away level with the 6. The attacker did a diving header such that he was about a foot off the ground and almost horizontal. The ball went into the goal, but as I watched the play unfold I noted that a nearby defender and the keeper both hesitated to make a play due the proximity of the attacker's head. I waved off the goal and called PIADM against the attacker. Naturally the attacking team and their coach were incensed. I still replay that call in my mind. I think I got it right??

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Mike,
Your match, your decision, your reputation!
You are 100% correct if you held the opinion the diving header created an unsafe condition where the defenders backed off for fear of hurting the player responsible. It can appear to be unfair that a well executed effort to score a goal is unrewarded but life is not always fair somethings are what they are and have consequences not always of their choosing! A lunging player on the ground who crabs forward to get a head on a loose ball or sliding tackle with extended leg pops a loose ball into the goal one method is generally a lot safer if there are opponents trying to get their feet into the mix. Keepers often throw themselves into the feet of onrushing opponents and accept that their safety could be compromised as it is realistic to think they are going to kick that ball into goal.even as the keeper will attempt to put his hands on it. You will note the LOTG state it is an offence ONCE the hands DO gain possession?touch the ball the attacker must NOT attempt to play that ball away from the hands! There is NO such provision on a headed ball at the feet of players!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mike,
A minor point perhaps but PIADM is the FIFA/IFAB terminology. Under NFHS rules the offence is simply known as 'Dangerous Play.'

The scenario you describe is actually very close to a specific NFHS play ruling, as follows:

''12.6 SITUATION B: Player A2 performs a diving header trying to score. In the process, a defender playing the ball kicks A2 in the head. RULING: Indirect free kick is given to the defending team since A2's dive created the dangerous situation.''

I have to say that if this happened in a game I was refereeing under the Laws of the Game, I would want to be convinced that the only reason defenders are not attempting to play the ball is for fear of injuring the opponent and not for instance, simply because they could not reach the ball in time.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mike
Playing in a dangerous manner or dangerous play is a matter for the referees opinion on the day.
In a recent Premier League game between Manchester United and Middlebrough Referee Lee Mason disallowed a goal for PIADM
The decision caused much debate with those agreeing with it and those who did not. Former FIFA referee Howard Webb was of the opinion that it should have stood opining that Ibrahimovic withdrew his foot after playing the ball. It probably shows the differing thresholds between referees.
I am sure Referee Mason if given the situation again would go with the same call. I personally think it was the correct call.
Now in your situation only your opinion mattered. I suspect that 50% agreed with it.
I cannot really say as one would need to see it and even at that even if I did see it only your opinion matters. Referee Mason might replay that in his mind and feel that he got it right. That is all that matters when it can go either way. Had you allowed the goal perhaps the defender would have been shouting that he could not play the ball for fear of kicking the attacker

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

NFHS Rule 12-6, Dangerous Play states: 'A player shall not participate in a dangerous play, which is an act an official considers likely to cause injury to any player. This includes playing in such a manner which could cause injury to self or another player (opponent or teammate).' In your situation, you have to judge if the attacker's heading of the ball was likely to cause injury to the attacker. If the defender and keeper had not backed off, would it have been likely that an injury to the attacker would have occurred. If so, you made the correct call. I hope that you are not snowed in today.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31347
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.