- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 31360
Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/17/2017
RE: Rec High School
Salvador Flores of Indianapolis, IN USA asks...
I also had another question. If the ball is half outside of the penalty line and half on the penalty line and the keeper grabs it with his or her hands, is it a handball or not?
Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson
Perfectly legal as the location of the ball is considered to be INSIDE the PA thus the keeper can use the hands even on the part of the ball outside. Seems a bit funky but the LOTG require a definite yes or no to a restart location so when dealing with a 12 inch across ball and 5 inch boundary lines it was decided to eliminate the doubt about where the ball was in or out of the area if he ball is in contact or above the plane with a boundary line that ball is IN . By the same LOTG the keeper is permitted to use their hands on a ball that is considered to be inside their PA
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile
Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove
As far as I can tell, NFHS rules hew to the same principle as the Laws of the Game - namely that the whole of the ball must cross the whole of the line to be outside the area that the line encloses.
That being the case, the keeper in this situation would be allowed to handle the ball.
Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove
View Referee Peter Grove profile
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
NFHS has the same interpretation as the LotG.
The Rules state that The ball is out of play when it has completely crossed a goal line or touchline,whether on the ground or in the air which is the same as the LotG. From that we can interpret that all of the ball must cross all of any line to be outside that area.
In your example the decision is play on. The real challenge for the referee is to determine the location of the ball at that split second.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone
Salvador, as indicated in NFHS Rule 1-2-2, Boundary lines are part of the field of play; and Rule 1-2-3, the penalty area lines are part of the penalty area. Rule 9-1-1 states that the ball is out of play when it has completely crossed a goal line or touch line whether on the ground or in the air. This is true of all other lines. If any part of the ball is touching the line or in the air over that line, it is considered to be in the boundaries enclosed by that line. Thus, the answer to your question is that the ball is still in the penalty area and there would be no handling violation on the part of the goalkeeper. I do hope that your season is going well.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone
View Referee Joe Manjone profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31360
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.