Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31366

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/19/2017

RE: Rec Adult

russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Keeper brain fade ends in red, however, is there a careless IFK foul by the attacker.

No question the keeper should see red for his actions, however, is there a case to say the attacker's actions " whether deliberate or not " were a hinderance to the keeper being able to potentially release the ball early.

We give DFK's for unintentional yet still careless tackles and challenges.

Even if we consider the attacker stumbled resulting in his arms in some form grabbing the keeper, is there any argument to say there was an IFK first by the attacker, then, the elbow by the keepers, and as such, the restart is the IDF out.

Guess what I'm seeking clarity on is, irrespective if it was an IFK or not - for the debate, lets say it was, would the restart be the IFK to the defending them, as the elbow was after the IFK.

Or, as we are advised to punish the more serious foul, is that the case in this instance (if we agree there was an IFK for the sake of the debate).

http://www.sbs.com.au/ondemand/video/901435971983/Theos-inexplicable-brain-explosion-hands-Adelaide-victory

As an aside, we really need to get to a place where the Referee does not need to be walking backwards in these moments. Other codes manage to make it clear that you cannot attempt to boss the officials.
And on that note, certainly the EPL appears to have soften it stance on backchat from how it was policed at the beginning of this campaign.



Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
Not sure what the referee saw here or how much of it he saw. He certainly saw the elbow by the goalkeeper which is violent conduct and a penalty kick if that was all that happened. Now the attacker was guilty of a holding foul before that on the GK so IMHO the correct decision was a red card for the goalkeeper, a yellow card for the attacker for holding and a DFK to the defending team.
These are not simultaneous fouls as if they were the referee could penalise the more serious offence which would be the violent conduct



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

I agree with Referee Joe McHugh. Often times we have a foul and then a retaliation after becomes misconduct. Thus if the keeper was held up, the referee decides to call that foul, and then keepers gets frustrated and elbowed the attacker..it should be a free kick going out after the red card. An interesting question is that if the referee chooses to apply advantage and allow the keeper to punt the ball....did the keeper ruin it for himself by elbowing the attacker? One could say that the advantage never pursued as the keeper didn't use the advantage, but at the same time it was the keepers free will and choice to elbow the attacker.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31366
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.