Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31376

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 3/21/2017

RE: Recreational Adult

Jason Tom of Leesburg, Virginia USA asks...

If you kick the ball on kick off right after the referee blows the whistle. Basically you shoot the ball at the opponents goal and score on the fist kick is that a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jason
Yes that is a goal. A goal can be scored directly from a kick off. An own goal cannot be scored so the restart there in the unlikely event that it does happen is a corner kick.
By the way older referees will remember a time when a goal could not be scored directly from a kick off. the ball had to be played by a second player. I suspect some of that legacy thinking might be still around. I had a player hit the crossbar recently and one player thought that the goal would not have been allowed. He was mistaken.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jason ,
yup a good goal and maybe a look by the NFL to see if you want a job as a place kicker lol.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IUOn7esUI0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ScYl0Bf3S8

if you score on yourself off a kick off ( now that we can start th ball backwards) it is a corner kick restart!

You can also score on a GOAL kick as well.
On a goal kick it is a retake unless the ball exited the PA first then came back into the goal then it becomes a corner kick as well.

This was actually a free kick, hope it was for a foul not an iNDFK for offside as then the goal could not count lol

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/row-zed/goalkeeper-scores-wonder-goal-goal-8767236

I saw a keeper actually punt a live ball and score in this he could score upon himself but he scored at the other end lol

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Clj5qJ5Xm8E

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jason,
Yes, this would be a goal. The actual wording in the LotG is:

''a goal may be scored directly against the opponents from the kick-off''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31376
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.