Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31385

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 3/24/2017

RE: Competetive Adult

Matt of Salt Lake City, UT USA asks...

During a goal kick, the kicker stumbles as he approaches the ball, and his foot strikes the ball and it begins to roll forward. Although it seems clear that the ball will not leave the penalty are before its momentum is spent, the kicker runs forward and kicks the ball a second time before it leaves the penalty area. What is the proper restart?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Another goal kick. The first one was not properly completed, because it didn't leave the penalty area before it was touched a second time. The ball was never in play.

The fact that the kicker's actions would result in an indirect free kick if the ball had left the PA is immaterial. The ball didn't leave, so the kick must be retaken.

If it looks like timewasting, then deal with that.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Matt
The ball must leave the penalty area before it can be legally played by any player. If it does not leave the penalty area and the kicker plays it for a second time the restart is a retake as the ball was not in play.
Interestingly had the ball made it out of the penalty area then the second touch would be penalised by an IDFK from where the second touch offence took place. Offences can only happen when the ball is IN PLAY.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Matt,
In this situation, the only possible decision is a retake of the goal kick. I'm not even sure I would actually classify this as a restart. A restart implies (to my mind at least) that the ball is in play and then, after play is stopped for an offence, there is a restart of play. However in this case the ball was never in play and no offence has been committed.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31385
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.