Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31391

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 3/26/2017

RE: Adult

Ajax of LONDON, United Kingdom asks...

Team A has a corner,the players take up there positions,the referee is standing outside the box.
The ball comes in and a player from team B kicks the ball clear; only for it to ricochet off the referee back and into the goal.
My question is in 3 parts.
A. Does the goal stand?
B. Is it classed as an own goal, as the referee isn't a player?
C. Does the referee have an option to disallow the goal?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Ajax,
legal goal.
more than likely an own goal if a defender last touched it but that is NOT f a referee concern
No a referee is part of the FOP and while he could feel like utter crap there is no legal basis to take away that goal unless he was unconscious with no neutral ARs to validate .
Cheers




Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
Unfortunately it is a goal and nothing that the referee can do other than allow it. The only possible exception is that if the ball was kicked do hard that the referee was incapacitated and he did not see the goal with no neutral assistants to help make the call.
If you think it is not possible then have a look at this video.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=M_euHnegML8
The ball was going wide until it hit the referee.
In respect of your follow on questions
A. Yes a goal
B. Goal will be credited to the last player to touch the ball
C. No with the one exception of being incapacitated through the strike of the ball while on his own with no confirmed independent knowledge of what happened such as advice from an AR.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

A. Yes (unless as stated, neither he nor any other match official sees the goal being scored).
B. Probably, but an official answer is not possible based on the Laws as they contain no provisions about who is credited with a goal.
C. No (with same caveat as A.)



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31391
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.