Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31403

Law 3 - The Players 3/28/2017

RE: Competitive Under 13

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 31389

I wanted to follow up on the second part of this question. I was able to locate the tournament rules online, and the only statement regarding uniform numbers is the following:

'Players must wear numbers visible on the back of their uniforms. The shirt number of each player must be the same as the roster.'

Interestingly, there was another player on the same team that had what looked like a borrowed jersey with no number on it at all, which WOULD seem to violate this rule - yet there was never any sanction regarding that player.

I did find out, because I knew some parents from that team, that of the two players that had the same number jersey, one was a rostered player and one was a guest player from another team in the same club (up to 5 guest players per team are allowed in this tournament).

So it sounds to me like that the CR went overboard on forcing a substitution and in stating that neither player with that number could re-enter the match for the remainder of the match (the tournament rules also allowed unlimited substitutions). I have no way of knowing how the players were listed on the roster that was turned in to the officials before the match.

Tournament rules:

http://www.pwsitournaments.org/Default.aspx?tabid=607955

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
As originally answered the tournament rules do not really change anything. The referee did not deal with it correctly.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Aaron
I believe we agree with everything you stated in our earlier responses other than to point out a referee intent on digging a hole rarely finds the LOTG or ROC as a way out more like a further push in.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31403
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - The Players

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.