Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31408

Law 3 - The Players 3/29/2017

steve of Altadena, ca us asks...

This question is a follow up to question 31396

AYSO categorically does not have a rule modification that would require an injured GK to leave the field of play. In AYSO, referees for U10 are very often very new referees. (And all referees in AYSO are volunteers -- many extremely dedicated, some who were volunteered by someone they know.) In the game described, it is pretty obvious what happened: the referee properly remembered the general rule that an injured player who is attended on the field must leave (temporarily or for a sub), but forgot the exemption for a GK. (The other possibility is that the referee confused the US high school rule -- I'm not sure if it is currently the case, but it at least used to be true that High School did not include the FIFA exemption for GKs.)

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Steve
Thanks for your input which is helpful.
It is a modification that I would not expect to see as it is not allowed by IFAB. Having said that I have seen one or two once off competition ROCs that were plainly not allowed. For instance I have seen a sin bin rule for a long weekend three game underage competition?
In respect of NFHS an injured goalkeeper must leave the field of play and must be replaced. He can return at the next stoppage.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Steve,
I had assumed that the referee had just got confused about the law as regards the exemption for goalkeepers but you're right, the NFHS rules do require both outfield players and keepers to leave the field if the clock has been stopped for injury so that might also have caused the confusion.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31408
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - The Players

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.