Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31433

Kicks From The Penalty mark 4/6/2017

RE: Senior Referee Adult

Radomir Senic of Brisbane, Queensland Australia asks...

For the penalty kicks to decide a winner new Law says that ref has to toss coin to decide the goal at which the kicks will be taken.What about who takes first and second penalty kick?Does the ref tosses a coin again or is it decided alternate?Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Radomir
Yes there are now two coin tosses, one to decide the end and the other to decide who goes first or second.
There had been a problem in the past with referees deciding which end to take the kicks and that did not sit well with supporters who felt it was a benefit / disadvantage to one team decided by the referee. It is now a decision of a lottery provided both end are equal in terms of surface and that there are no safety issues.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Radomir,
Ref McHugh has given the right info as regards the coin tosses. The actual wording of the law is:

''Unless there are other considerations (e.g. ground conditions, safety etc.), the referee tosses a coin to decide the goal at which the kicks will be taken which may only be changed for safety reasons or if the goal or playing surface becomes unusable

The referee tosses a coin again and the team that wins the toss decides whether to take the first or second kick''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI RAdomir,
IT should be noted we often use a coin that says Away and Home rather then let the call be a head or tails there is no need to decide who gets to call, the referee simply flips the coin and the coin decides.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31433
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.