Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31441

Law 13 - Free Kicks 4/7/2017

RE: Varsity High School

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA United States asks...

This is a weird one I still can't figure out. This is a DFK restart for blue, and for some reason I can't detect there's a violation that results in an IFK for white from the same spot.

The only thing I can figure is that the wind had caused the ball to move before the kick is taken and they kicked a moving ball, but if it was because of the wind wouldn't it just be a retake? (check out the corner flag)

This was early in the match; after a few minutes the CR allowed a 'holder' for most free kicks the remainder of the match.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HkvXW92peZE

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Aaron,
the only thing that makes sense is the referee saw this as a double touch by the kicker. Thus an INDFK out. Other than that if he was concerned the ball was rolling and it needed to be retaken. Leaving a foot on top & removing it as a way of dealing with high winds could work. It looked as if she stuck a foot out to reposition the ball that MIGHT have been construed as an initial kick then backed off as the other ran over top and when she kicked it he counted it as double touch????? For me it was play on!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Aaron,
If it helps, I can't figure it out either!
There's a player near the ball when the ball is slowly rolling. I'm wondering if the referee thought that player kicked it to put it into play, the second player didn't touch it, then the first player kicked it again.
Perhaps the thinking was the first 'touch' set it up for the 2nd player to come in and run with the ball, but even though that didn't happen the referee was still running off that decision.
Occasionally the referee does have a slightly difficult decision in trying to work out if the first touch was seeking to put a ball into play or if it was just positioning, and sometimes the referee isn't really able to figure that out until seeing what happens after.
On the video it looks like an incorrect decision.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Aaron
What I believe happened is that the kicker first touched the ball with the foot either trying to steady the ball or whatever. The second player runs over it making no contact and by that time the ball is already on the move from the wind. The kicker then comes in and kicks the ball for the cross. The referee IMO decides that it is a double touch and restarts with an IDFK. It is harsh to assume that the first touch by a Blue player put the ball in play when in fact it was the wind. The referee could have opined that the first touch was in fact to put the ball in play for the second player who just steps over the ball.
I watched one recently in a Pro level game and a player touched the ball to a team mate who missed the touch by his team mate. The kicker then played the ball again for a clear double touch. In that case the ball was moved by the kicker on the first touch and put into play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31441
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 31442

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.