Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31442

Law 18 - Common Sense 4/8/2017

RE: Rec Adult

russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

This question is a follow up to question 31441

I think I know the answer to the puzzle that was put forward by Aaron of Virginia Beach (Post 31441) regarding the CR decision to award an IDFK.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8FKAcr9Vug

The CR did not utilise Law 18 - common sense.

It seems obvious that her first touch was more about settling the ball 'before' actual addressing of the kick - particularly as the wind was so strong the corner flag was close to becoming a dangerous object !

That said, if the ball went directly into the goal and the CR allowed the goal, the opposition now have footage of a potentially incorrectly awarded goal.

So here is a new question - IF it did go directly into the goal and the goal was awarded, and there was footage of the play, could there be a protect?

R


Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
Had the ball gone directly into the goal and the referee awarded the goal it is not a protestable decision. The referee can opine that he did not see the ball move, he saw the first touch as trying to settle the ball, or that the ball movement was trifling given the conditions. It is a matter of opinion not an error in Law.







Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31442
Read other Q & A regarding Law 18 - Common Sense

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.