- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 31444
Law 14 - The Penalty kick 4/9/2017
RE: Competitive Adult
Walter of Stoneham, Massachusetts United States asks...
The question is related to a PK.The law states that the player taking the penalty kick ,can not touch the ball again til the ball is touched by another player first.So if the goalie saves the pk and the ball rebounds to the player who took the kick, he can't kick the ball and score off the rebound ! That is the way I read the law, am I correct?Or is the goalie consider the other player ,and if he is then , it would be legit for the player taking the pk to score off the rebound after ,the goalie saved it.please clear the clouds, that happened in a game and the center ref , said no goal.
Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove
The law on players (Law 3) says:
''A match is played by two teams, each with a maximum of eleven players; one must be the goalkeeper.''
So clearly, the goalkeeper is a player and in this instance, since the keeper is not the player taking the kick, he is 'another player' and therefore in the scenario you describe (and assuming this was during the course of the game) the penalty taker can kick the ball again and score a goal. The referee that you say ruled it out, was incorrect.
Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove
View Referee Peter Grove profile
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
Unfortunately you are not correct. A goalkeeper is one of the 11 players so a save by the goslkeeper means that the kicker can follow up with a play on the ball. It is only a rebound off the frame of the goal that prevents the kicker from playing the bsll for a second time.
Here is an example of a kicker following up to play thr ball off a save
Perfectly legal play.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson
assuming if this is a normal PK taken during the match and it is not an EXTENDED PK or KFTPM, the PK kicker is permitted to play the ball off the rebound if the keeper makes a save. You are correct the keeper IS in fact another player so the second touch violation is NOT in effect.
Only if the ball rebounds off the woodwork directly with no subsequent touch by the keeper is the PK kicker STILL restricted as no other player has yet been in contact with the ball. It would be an INDFK if the PK kicker was to make contact directly with the ball a 2nd time.
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31444
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.