Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31448

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/11/2017

RE: Rec Adult

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Can the panel please help me understand why a penalty was awarded in this attack on the arsenal goal.

http://www.fullmatchesandshows.com/2017/04/10/crystal-palace-vs-arsenal-highlights/

In real time first viewing, I was certain the keeper had not brought him down.
So I thought, maybe there was a 'bump' from the defender, however, as I was now starting to guess, I was even more convinced it was not a penalty.
I struggles to see anything in the replays - so what have I missed.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
You have missed nothing. The referee does not have the luxury of replays, slow motion, freeze frame etc. to make his decision From what we can see the Crystal Palace player anticipated the contact from the goalkeeper and he went to ground after he kicked the ball past the goalkeeper. He ensured also that he was as close to the body of the goalkeeper as possible so it would look like contact caused by the GK's actions
So in real time on the field of play this will look like a penalty. The referee was very well placed and he has a good view of the incident.
Now we know from the video that the player here has created the penalty by his actions and it would be a very difficult decision for the referee not to give this from his angle of view on the FOP. What it also points to is that in the modern game that unless a player is certain of playing the ball inside the penalty area and when that does not happen the percentages of a penalty award goes up considerably. In this case once the Arsenal keeper got nothing on the ball then it was always likely to end up as it did as a penalty. Goalkeepers at this level know that and for me it was a race to the ball that the goalkeeper lost. Once he entered the race to the ball the GK bought the ticket and lost. He gets a hand on the ball and it is nothing.
Here is another penalty awarded against Arsenal
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f4j1jJBB1yo
Most seen it as a penalty yet IMO the attacker also manufactured the foul. Red plays the ball and it is nothing.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Russell,
the replay shows the attacker worked the leg to ensure some contact. Yet because the challenge was never going to get to the ball the referee likely went with the fact the attacker got TO the ball first and DID go down. I think if he saw the reverse angle we saw he might have NOT blown for the PK.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31448
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.