Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31458

Law 11 - Offside 4/16/2017

RE: Rec Adult

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

PIOP involved in a goal ?

In the Stoke v Hull match this weekend, the Hull goal scored looked like it may have had a PIOP (No.24) become involved in the play that lead to the gaol.

In the scramble that was the lead up to the Hull goal, the ball was played across the box when it fell to a scrambled attempt to shoot by a Hull player, at the same time as a scrambled attempt to defend the ball by a Stoke player. The ball eventually bounces through to Maguire from Hull to shoot and score.

At the time of the scramble immediately before the ball made it to Maguire, a Hull Player in an offside position comes back to attempt to win the ball, and although he does not win the ball he dose definitely intend to get to the ball, and this looks to potentially have impeded a stoke defender.

Very hard to tell who touched the ball in the scramble immediately beforehand, however, if we assume it was the Hull player, is there enough involvement from the PIOP to justify cancelling out the goal.

http://www.fullmatchesandshows.com/2017/04/15/stoke-city-vs-hull-city-highlights-2/

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
There would be doubt in the ARs view as to who last played the ball in the challenge between the Stoke and Hull players. There is also doubt about whether the PIOP actually challenges an opponent for the ball or not. On balance I would say no offside. It was certainly not obvious and little onfield questioning of the decision



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


Hi Russell,
there is possible interference but was it actualized in the mindset of the AR or CR is doubtful. Given there was no real outcry things best left as is! If the defender had actually run into the PIOP then a more clear case for interference
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31458
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.