- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 31463
Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 4/19/2017
Adhish of New York, New York USA asks...
If a player standing inside the goal line saves the goal before the ball crosses the line. Will the goal be considered?
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
It is the position of the ball that counts not the position of the player. So all of the ball has to cross all of the goal line for a goal to be awarded. This video shows that the ball is the only consideration in a goal award
Here is an example during a game
The use of goal line technology showed that all of the ball crossed all of the line. Had the goalkeeper managed to prevent the ball crossing the line then no goal would have been awarded
It is interesting to note that the Blue players did not believe the technology with one getting booked for dissent. I believe that without the technology there was every chance that the goal would not have been awarded.
NCAA has the same rule as FIFA on this.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone
As is indicated in NCAA Rule 10.1, A goal is scored when the whole of the ball has passed over the goal line between the goal posts and under the cross bar. Thus, in your example, the ball has not crossed completely over the goal line so it is not a goal.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone
View Referee Joe Manjone profile
Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson
the location of the player inside the goal is not considered. It is the location of the ball itself which determines if a goal is scored. The ENTIRETY of the ball must COMPLETELY cross the goal line under the crossbar and between the posts to be counted as a goal PROVIDED there was no infraction by the team scoring said goal.
Technology can determine the ball location to a millimeter so a paper width thickness of daylight might be all there was but good enough to be a goal. If a player saves the ball as long as it is done legally he can be either side of the goal line. It is the BALL that cannot!
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31463
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.