Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31463

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 4/19/2017

RE: College

Adhish of New York, New York USA asks...

If a player standing inside the goal line saves the goal before the ball crosses the line. Will the goal be considered?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Adhish
It is the position of the ball that counts not the position of the player. So all of the ball has to cross all of the goal line for a goal to be awarded. This video shows that the ball is the only consideration in a goal award
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m17ERc-kQhQ
Here is an example during a game
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDgqeSMTWtY
The use of goal line technology showed that all of the ball crossed all of the line. Had the goalkeeper managed to prevent the ball crossing the line then no goal would have been awarded
It is interesting to note that the Blue players did not believe the technology with one getting booked for dissent. I believe that without the technology there was every chance that the goal would not have been awarded.
NCAA has the same rule as FIFA on this.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Adhish,

As is indicated in NCAA Rule 10.1, A goal is scored when the whole of the ball has passed over the goal line between the goal posts and under the cross bar. Thus, in your example, the ball has not crossed completely over the goal line so it is not a goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hello Adhish
the location of the player inside the goal is not considered. It is the location of the ball itself which determines if a goal is scored. The ENTIRETY of the ball must COMPLETELY cross the goal line under the crossbar and between the posts to be counted as a goal PROVIDED there was no infraction by the team scoring said goal.
Technology can determine the ball location to a millimeter so a paper width thickness of daylight might be all there was but good enough to be a goal. If a player saves the ball as long as it is done legally he can be either side of the goal line. It is the BALL that cannot!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31463
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.