Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31466

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/20/2017

RE: Presidio Under 13

Gerhard of La Jolla, CA USA asks...

If the keeper slides to catch a ball close to the line of the penalty box, but is slide takes part of his body - lets say the feet and legs - past the line to the outside of the box, does that count as a 'handball'?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Gerhard
It is the position of the ball that counts not the position if the goalkeeper or his hands. Fir a ball to be outside the penalty area all of the ball has to be over all if the line. Once the ball is inside the penalty area the goal keeper may use his hands to play the ball.
So the extreme of this is that the goalkeeper could have all of his body including his hands outside the penalty area with part of the ball touching the penalty area line and it would not be deemed to be deliberate handling



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Gerhard,
To echo Ref McHugh's comments, all that matters is the position of the ball. The position of the body doesn't matter - nor does the position of the hands on the ball. If a sliver of the ball is still above the Penalty Area line, then it's considered in the PA - and even if the part outside is being handled, because the ball is considered inside the PA then no offence has been committed.

This makes soccer a bit different to some other sports where the ball in the hands but contact with the ground outside means that the ball is outside - in this sport, all that matters is the position of the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Gerhard,
Assuming that the ball is still inside the penalty area (which includes when any part of it is overhanging the line) then there is no handball in the situation you describe.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31466
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.