- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 31467
Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/20/2017
RE: Varsity High School
Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA United States asks...
Wow the play back to the keeper certainly has brought up a lot of discussion! And it has happened a lot in my daughter's HS games so far this year. Here's another one!
The two defenders certainly had a 'hands to the face' reaction, but it could have just as easily been 'OMG I can't believe we almost scored on ourselves' instead of 'OMG is the referee going to call that?'
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
Thanks for the video.
It is clear that the White defender had other intentions than deliberately kicking the ball to her goalkeeper. In fact the goalkeeper could do nothing here other than save the ball which is what is EXPECTED of a goalkeeper in such circumstances. It is simply a misdirected kick that could easily have gone into the goal.
So for me the correct decision was made by the referee and one that is expected.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson
well done for the referee realizing it was a clearance gone astray rather than a deliberate kick to her keeper. As I pointed out in the earlier one where an INDFK WAS awarded (not warranted in my opinion) the voice I heard on the tape expounding incorrectly that it was kicked with the foot thus it MUST be a INDFK is simply a myth.
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile
Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove
Just to make it unanimous, I agree with both my colleagues that there is no offence here.
Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove
View Referee Peter Grove profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31467
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.