Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31483

Law 11 - Offside 4/25/2017

RE: Competitive all age Adult

Keeper of Sydney, Nsw Australia asks...

I saw an offside rule with the wording 'you can't be offside from a throw.'
I know you can't be offside from a throw in but the wording doesn't include the 'in'.
Would that be a mistake or could it imply that you can't be offside if a goalkeeper throws it you in an offside position?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

The official law is quoted in Law 11.
**There is no offside offence if a player receives the ball directly from:  
# a goal kick
# a throw-in
# a corner kick**
So what you saw was a typo or a mistake. Offside applies on throws from the goalkeeper. It is a pretty rare offence as goalkeeper in the modern game rarely throw the ball that far.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

You must have seen a poorly worded paraphrase. See Ref McHugh's post for the correct wording direct from the Laws of the Game.

This illustrates the problems people or leagues can make in trying to make the Laws 'accessible'. Things get left out, leaving ambiguity.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

As my colleagues have mentioned, the wording you saw was incorrect.

The only way to be sure what the Laws of the Game actually say, is to look at the official version. Fortunately, these days it is easily accessible to read from the IFAB website ( You can also download a copy from their site or from FIFA's website (

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31483
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.