Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31494

High School 4/27/2017

RE: Competive High School

Lionel Heinold of Ephrata, washington United States asks...

During a throw in, on foot is clearly in touch and the other over the line on the field (not touching the line). Is this a correct throw in?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Lionel,
Law 15 states that both feet must be ON or BEHIND the line.

If one foot is wholly on the field of play (not touching the line) then that foot is neither on nor behind the line, so that part of Law 15 is not met. That makes it an incorrectly taken throw in and a throw shall be awarded to the other team.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Lionel
At a throw in a player must have part of both feet on or behind the line. So a player could have his heels on the line with his toes over the line and that is legal.
Once the player places ALL of his foot over ALL of the line it is an incorrectly taken throw in and the throw in is turned over to the opponents.
In your example with one foot behind and the other foot clearly over the line that is not a correctly taken throw in.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Lionel,
technically the throw in is performed incorrectly as part of each foot must be on or behind the line. If you straddle the line the opposite team would be awarded the retake.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31494
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.