Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31512

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 5/6/2017

RE: Competitive Under 13

Edward of Dallas, TX Usa asks...

Had this happen to me in a youth (U12) game. I was the AR on this particular play.

Keeper goes to take goal kick. However, the wind was fairly strong that day (gusts over 30 mph) and when she kicked it the ball blew backwards over her team's own goal line without ever leaving the 18 yard box. The center and I discusses it and we ended up awarding a goal kick since it technically didn't leave the 18 yard box. Is that the right call?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Edward
Yes well done. That is the correct call. As the ball was not put into play though leaving the penalty area the only option is a retake. Had the ball left the penalty area either outbound or inbound then the ball was in play and the restart would have been a corner kick.
A goal cannot be scored directly here even if the ball left the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Edward,
You are correct. A player can never score directly against themselves from a restart, so had it gone into the goal that would not be an issue.
A corner kick is the restart when the ball crosses the line after being last touched by a defender when it's in play.

Here, the ball never went into play so the correct restart is a retake of the goal kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Edward,
You are spot on, if the ball has not COMPLETELY left the PA , then it is NOT in play and a retake is correct. IF the ball had left the PA and was blown back into the goal with no other touch it is a corner kick!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31512
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.