Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31531

Other 5/14/2017

RE: College

roger of goa, India asks...

If the striker shoots the ball on target and the ball hits the goalkeeper, then hits the post, then again the goalkeeper, and finally goes in, is the goal given to the striker or is it an own goal by the goalkeeper?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Roger
If the ball is on target from the original shot then the goal is awarded to the attacker when there is one touch by an opponent through a save / deflection
In the case where there is a double obvious touch such as a save on to the post with the ball then being played by the goalkeeper into the goal on the second touch rebound it is an own goal. The reason is that without the second play of the ball it would not have entered the goal on its own therefore an own goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31531
Read other Q & A regarding Other

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.