Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31535

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/15/2017

RE: Rec Under 16

Hamish McGeach of Adelaide, South Australia Australia asks...

Goalkeeper with ball in hands inside the box, kicks it out, ball strikes opposition player outside of the box. Referee red cards the keeper, and awards a penalty. On the card writes 'using ball as weapon'. Thoughts?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Hamish
Context is everything here. In open play on a punt then the majority of times it is an IDFK only for preventing release of the ball. here is an example
Here is one that the referee allowed
If however the goalkeeper goes out of his way to use the ball to strike an opponents then that is violent conduct, a dismissal and a red card. The restart is a direct free kick or penalty kick depending on where the player was when the ball struck him or would have struck him as part of VC
Now the challenge is to prove intent in what looks like normal regular play. However if the GK was to run after a player and kick / throw the ball at the player say after words were exchanged then that would be using the ball as a weapon and it is violent conduct.
If the ball is used as a weapon the restart is a direct free kick or penalty kick depending where the ball struck the opponent. In this case if the player was struck OUTSIDE the penalty area it is a direct free kick not a penalty kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Hamish ,
the decision to see this inexcusable behaviour as VIOLENT MISCONDUCT not SFP is within the referees discretion but the restart is not a penalty if the recipient was outside the 18 yard penalty area it is a DFK from where the player was struck. If the player was INSIDE the PA then a PK. Also if the keeper had carried the ball outside of the PA first then kicked it at the player it is a DFK for deliberate handling right along the edge of the 18 yard PA where he left with the ball in his hands. The red card is for the violent misconduct not the foul!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31535
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.