Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31539

Law 11 - Offside 5/16/2017

RE: Adult

Frank of Hobart, Tasmania Australia asks...

Hello,
follow up question to offside.
If a player in an OSP receives the ball from a team mate which is deflected by a mislead interception by an opponent is judged as NO OFFSIDE OFFENCE. Could it be considered that the GK saving a shot that accidentally goes to the person in an OSP not be the same? How does it differ? Thx.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Frank ,
You use the word DEFLECTION, if the ball is deemed as a deflection it means it CAN NOT be a deliberate play thus the oppositions' offside restriction remains.

If the ball is MISPLAYED in that it is a MISTAKE then the offside restriction is rescinded , however, if that attempt was ALSO connected with preventing goal or clear shot into the goal in the opinion of the referee then the misplay is a deliberate save and once again the oppositions' offside restriction REMAINS!

part of the LOTG stipulate that you CAN make a deliberate save, (this is where you are deliberately playing the ball to prevent a goal from being scored!) Whether the ball is kicked well or poorly or in the keepers case handled well or poorly the DELIBERATE incident is judged the same as a rebound or deflection no PIOP can take advantage of that incident.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Frank
The simple answer is that if differs because the Laws of the Game specify that a save CANNOT reset offside. Yes a save is a deliberate play yet the law makers are of the opinion that a player in an offside position should not gain an advantage by being able to play the ball off a save. Indeed some South American countries were interpreting a save as an offside reset and IFAB had to spell out specifically that it was not.
A save by the way is defined as attempting to stop a shot that is goal ward bound. The actual quote is that a save is * An action by a player to stop the ball when it is going into or very close to the goal using any part of the body except the hands (unless a goalkeeper within their own penalty area)*



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31539
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.