Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31543

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/17/2017

RE: Varsity High School

Michael Heath of Cottleville, MO USA asks...

I have a game coming up and have had the team before as an AR. The goalie, after making a save, drops the ball intentionally to the ground, begins to dribble with their feet, as the attacker comes back to make a play, the goalie picks the ball up again. Violation of Rule 12, correct...double touch, award an IFK?

The first game, this did not happen in my half of the field and was not called by the other AR or Center.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Michale ,
you are correct if it was inside the PA, the keeper if he had actual ball possession and then released it back into play, he cannot reuse his hands UNLESS another player has contacted the ball in between. Mind you was the ball knocked down and left on the ground (as long a it was not a parry) then the keeper might not yet have had actual hand possession and then could pick it up as the first time!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Michael
If the ball is knocked to the ground as part of a save then the restriction of the goalkeeper picking the ball up is not present and he may pick the ball up without sanction. He then has 6 seconds to release the ball from the moment he picks the ball up

What is not allowed is for the goalkeeper to have control of the ball i.e. in his grasp or a parry and to then pick the ball up after he has thrown the ball to the ground. That is a very rare offence now and one that rarely happens. My advice is to only punish obvious offences here rather than doubftul ones that is part of a save

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Michael,
If you are absolutely sure that the keeper had full control of the ball before deliberately releasing it, then you are right, they cannot touch the ball again with their hands until another player has touched it. You need to be certain that it was not a deliberate save or an accidental rebound before you penalise for this, however.

Since the keeper has seemingly been getting away with this, to avoid practicing what could be seen as 'gotcha' refereeing, you might want to warn the keeper first before actually calling the offense although that is of course, purely up to you.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31543
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.