Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31560

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 5/24/2017

RE: Youth Premiere Under 19

Matt of Salt Lake City, UT United States of America asks...

During a penalty kick procedure, but prior to the kick being taken, defender B1 pushes attacker A2 into the penalty area. The kick is taken while A2 is still in the penalty area. The penalty kick is missed.

I've been involved with soccer for almost 35 years, and this was a first for me. I ruled the kick be retaken, penalizing the defender for entering the penalty area illegally even though he didn't actually enter the area. I realize that I could/should have cautioned the defender, but I decided that the retaking of a missed penalty kick was punishment enough for doing something that colossally ridiculous. Was my interpretation correct?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Matt
As the defending team has infringed the Laws of the Game at a penalty kick (the push) the correct decision is a retake of the penalty kick if missed. So your decision was correct. The key is the whistle to allow the kick to be taken. What happens between the whistle and the kick can be allowed to happen and it is dealt with after the kick. In this case if the whistle was sounded and on the run up the offence happened then the kick is allowed to proceed and then whatever is the appropriate action taken afterwards. Had the goal been scored then perhaps no action needed to be taken if no card was required.
Personally I would have cautioned the defender for his action which also helps *sell* the decision. There can be doubt at a penalty kick as to what has been given and why. Sanctioning the player with a caution can help identify the offender and what the decision was for.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Matt,
Yes!
If the defending team at a PK is at fault and the PK is missed the kick is retaken. The caution as a must card is still at your discretion but I think you considered the necessity and as long a you are receiving no real dissent from the decision you may have sold the restart effectively.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31560
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.