Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31563

League Specific 5/27/2017

RE: Under 16

Ann of Tralee, Co Kerry Ireland asks...

A player receives two yellow cards in a game. He is sent off and receives a one match ban. The next game he is scheduled to play his club RECEIVES a walk over, does this walk over game count as the 'banned' game??

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ann
The answer depends on the competition rules pertaining to that competition. For instance North Dublin Schoolboys / girls state in its rules that walkovers do not count towards serving a suspension.
Some others competition rules state that if the opponents are the cause of the walkover it does count whereas it does not count if it is the players own club is the causes of the walkover.
Now in the absence of a defined competition rule the following FAI / FIFA general rule could apply
** If the suspension is to be served in terms of matches, only those matches actually played count towards execution of the suspension. If a match is abandoned or forfeited, suspension is only considered to have been served if the team to which the suspended player belongs is not responsible for the facts that led to the abandonment or forfeiture of the match.**
I hope that helps

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31563
Read other Q & A regarding League Specific

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.