Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31616

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 6/21/2017

RE: Adult

Jeff Braun of Strathroy, Ontario Canada asks...

If a penalty kick rebounds of the crossbar or post and the kicker takes another kick or in any way touches the ball, Is it offside?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jeff,
No, this is not an offside offence. Firstly, offside requires a touch by a team mate and here, only the kicker had touched the ball. Also, the kicker (unless something incredibly unusual happened) was behind the ball when when taking the penalty so even if a player could be offside from their own touch, the kicker was not in an offside position anyway.

However the kicker has committed an offence, commonly known as a 'double touch' offence, by playing the ball a second time before any other player has touched it. The restart would be an indirect free kick to the opponents.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Jeff,
As Ref Grove states, offside is not the applicable law - a player can never put themselves offside. Offside is when an attacker is closer to the opponent's goal line than both the ball and the second last line of defence (here, the attacker is behind the ball), and the ball is touched by a teammate (here it's touched by the same attacker).

However, there is a law preventing a player from playing the ball twice at a restart before another player touches it. If the kicker touches the ball after it rebounds from the crossbar and before it has touched any player (bear in mind the keeper is another player), then this is an indirect free kick to the defence. This is the same law that stops a player dribbling the ball away at a free kick.

If it was Kicks From The Mark to decide a game - a penalty kick that occurs at the end of the first or second half when play has been extended ONLY for the kick then no follow-up is permitted anyway, by any of the attackers.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jeff
A player cannot be offside by playing the ball to himself. In open play it would not be offside
Now Law 14 like any other kicked restart requires that the ball is touched / played by another player before the kicker can play the ball for a second time. In this case as the ball has come back off the frame of the goal it has not been touched by another player so the kicker is guilty of a technical infringement of a double touch which has an IDFK restart from where the ball was touched for a second time
So while it is not offside it is still an offence punished by an IDFK.
If the ball came back off the goalkeeper or touched by the goalkeeper on to the frame of the goal the restriction would no longer apply ad it would be play on.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Jeff,
this is an INDFK infringement known as the double touch off a restart given no other player has yet contacted the ball. If the keeper had managed to deflect it onto the wood work or if the ball off the woodwork even accidently caught the keeper in a deflection or rebound ONLY then could the PK kicker kick away!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31616
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.