Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31618

Law 11 - Offside 6/22/2017

RE: high school/travel High School

richard hawkins of seaford, new york usa asks...

1. is it possible to be offsides on a goal kick?
2. is it possible to be offsides on a goalie punt?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Richard,
(1) NO

on a goal kick NO offside is possible as it is one of the three restarts exempt from offside, the other two are throw in and corner kick.

Now in free play a keeper punting the ball out after utilizing his six seconds of ball handling possession or throwing or drop kicking it or simply dribbling it out then kicking it away , offside positional criteria are IN effect at the last touch of the release in any form.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Richard
A player cannot be offside from a goal kick, throw in or corner kick. On a GK punt the ball is in play so offside applies as it is not a restart.
So the answers to your questions are
A Not possible to be offside
B. Yes Offside is possible.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Richard,
A player cannot be offside when receiving the ball directly from a goal kick, corner kick or throw in.

Bear in mind that there needs to be 2 attackers involved for offside to be considered - the one touching the ball, and the other attacker who then becomes involved in active play (usually by touching the ball).

So let's say, for an example, that an attacker is standing in an offside position when the goal kick or throw in is taken. The kick then touches an opponent, then goes onto the Player In an Offside Position (PIOP). This is NOT offside (there is often confusion about this) - because there's still no relevant attacking touch. There's the attacker putting the ball into play - which is irrelevant here, the defending touch, then the receiving attacker. There's no initial attacking touch that counts - so there need to be 2 attackers involved after the touch that puts the ball back into play.
Free kicks are different - the touch putting the ball into play does count as that 'first' touch.

As for a goalkeeper's punt - this is not a restart; the ball is in general play so it's treated just like any other touch of the ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31618
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.