Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31624

Law 11 - Offside 6/29/2017

RE: Under 11

J of Denver, CO USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 26204

This question is a follow up to question 26204:

Player A receives ball onside, dribbles forward past defenders, and shoots; Keeper B saves by ball deflection; Player A receives ball past second to last defender; and kicks ball into goal.

Is Player A Offsides, or not?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

This is NOT offside nor can it be. The last attacking player to play / touch the ball is PlayerA and he was in an onside position behind the ball when he shot anyway. As the ball was deflected / rebounded off an opponent from the shot by Player A effectively to himself via a rebound he cannot be called offside as he was not in an offside position nor was a team mate involved.
It could only be offside if it was a team mate of Player A who was in an offside position at the moment of the shot by his team mate A. That offside position would be ahead of the ball. The only way to stay onside in such a position is to stay behind the ball. The basis of offside in Q 26204 was that the team mate receiving the ball was in an offside position at the moment of the shot by his team mate and that the rebound by an opponent did not reset offside. Offside can only be reset by the ball going out of play or the ball being deliberately played by an opponent not a save or a rebound or an onside team mate beginning a new phase of play placing the offside positioned team mate in an onside position.
A word of caution about questions that are older than June in the year that they are asked. Law changes each June can and does make older answers dated and while correct at time of questioning they may not be correct now. In this case the answer is still the same as in 2012

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi J,
A player cannot put themselves 'offside'.
If we review Law 11, you'll see that a TEAMMATE must be involved. An attacker touches or plays the ball, then an offence is committed if a TEAMMATE then becomes involved in active play.

Also, this player isn't even in an offside position; you cannot be in an offside position if you are behind the ball when it is touched by a teammate.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi J,
For an offside offence to be possible, the player must be in an offside position when the ball is touched by a team mate. In your example when the last touch by a team mate occurred, the player was in an onside position and there was no subsequent touch by a team mate during the play you describe so there can be no offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31624
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.