Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31655

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/24/2017

Paul D Napier of Vacaville, CA United States asks...

Can a GK yell at a kicker (KICK IT TO THE RIGHT!) while taking a kick from the mark. Also the GK must be standing on the goal line before the kick is taken.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
No a goalkeeper cannot shout to distract a kicker at a penalty kick. If the kick is missed it is retaken and the goalkeeper is cautioned for unsporting behaviour.
Also yes a goalkeeeper must be on the goal line until the ball is kicked. Most GKs make a movement just before the kick and as long as the encroachment is not blatant many referees see it as insignificant and allow the kick to proceed.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

In high school games, the goalkeeper in your situation would be cautioned for deliberate verbal tactics. If the goal is scored, the game would be restarted with a kick-off. If the goal is not scored, the kick would be retaken. In either case, the goalkeeper would have to leave the game until the next legal opportunity to substitute.
As to the second part of your question, NFHS Rule 14-1-3 indicates that: lateral movement is permitted but the goalkeeper is not to come off the line by stepping or lunging forward until the ball is in play. To be in play, the ball must be moved forward. If the keeper comes off the line before the ball is in play, a re-kick is given unless a goal is scored. Unlike other levels of play, the goalkeeper coming off the line too soon is considered significant and should be penalized.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Paul,
It is an offence if a player ''verbally distracts an opponent during play or at a restart.'' So if the referee judges that a goalkeeper is guilty of this at a penalty, then according to Law 14:

''if the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
if the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken; the goalkeeper is cautioned if responsible for the offence''

The same provisions should apply if the goalkeeper leaves the line before the kick is taken, although as Ref McHugh says, an insignificant amount of movement (and which may also be difficult to detect without a slow-motion replay) is often overlooked.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31655
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.