Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31669

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/2/2017

RE: PREMIER Adult

IBRAHIM ISHIAKU of LOKOJA, KOGI NIGERIA asks...

DURING A MATCH, BALL WAS PLAYED DIRECTLY TO A GOALKEEPER FROM HIS TEAM MATE (BACK PASS). THE GOAL KEEPR MISSED THE BALL WHILE TRYING TO PLAY THE BALL OUT WITH HIS LEG. WHILE THE BALL WAS GOING DIRECT TO THE NET (GOAL) HE (GOAL KEEPER) NOW USED HIS HAND TO PROPELLED THE BALL FROM ENTERING THE NET (GOAL). WHAT SHOULD BE THE DECISION OF THE REFEREE?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ibrahim
The decision is that the referee awards an indirect free kick to the attacking team from where the goalkeeper touched the ball with his hand/s that was deliberately kicked to him by a team mate and if that is inside the goal area then the IDFK is taken on the 6 yard line.
There cannot be any card for the goalkeeper as the GK cannot be sanctioned for handling the ball inside his own penalty area. It is an IDFK only



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Ibrahim,

If a teammate kicked the ball to the keeper, then the restart is an indirect free kick from where the keeper handled it (or out on the edge of the Goal Area - the 6 yard box - if it was inside there). The keeper cannot received any card at all for this - laws prevent the keeper from being carded for handling the ball inside his penalty area. Doesn't matter if it stopped a goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Ibrahim,
You say the ball was played but you don't say exactly how. I think we should be clear that it is only an offence if the ball was ''deliberately kicked to the goalkeeper by a team-mate.'' 'Kicked' means the ball was played with the foot. If the ball was played with a body part other than the foot or if the kick was not deliberate, there is no problem for the goalkeeper to use the hands.

Assuming the 'play' you describe was indeed a deliberate kick then the decision should be as outlined by my colleagues - an indirect free kick (but no caution).



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31669
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.