Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31682

High School 8/6/2017

RE: Any level High School

Larry Kap of Middletown, PA USA asks...

After overtime and during kicks from the mark to decide a winner, does a goal that a player scores count towards his career goals scored?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Larry
Generally goals scored in KFTPM do not count towards goals scored tallies. For instance in the FIFA Golden Boot Award only goals scored during play and extra time count towards the players tally only.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Larry,
In high school play, where kicks from the mark are used to determine a winner, the number of goals scored is only used to determine what team scores the most goals and, is, therefore the winner. One goal is then added to the score to show the winning team. For example, the score going into the kicks from the mark, is tied 3-3. Team A outscores Team B in Kicks from the Mark, 4-2. Team A would be declared the winner by a score of 4-3. But to answer your question, the goals scored in kicks from the mark in high school play do not go toward individual career goals scored, unless, in your case, the PIAA allows them to be counted. Each state high school athletic association can determine their own rules concerning tie game procedures. You may want to talk to Stan Latta, the PIAA Soccer Rules Interpreter to get an official ruling. I hope that your team has a great season and gets to the finals in Hershey.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Larry,
As the answers from my colleagues show, while such goals do not typically count towards a player's total career goal tally, this is not something covered by the Laws of the Game, rather it is more of a Rules of Competition matter.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31682
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.