Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31687

Law 11 - Offside 8/7/2017

RE: Competitive Under 12

Chris of Auckland , New zealand asks...

Hi
In a recent game an attacker was behind the last defender when a defender who had the ball kicked it. The ball ricocheted off the rear of another defender to the feet of the same attacker who was still closer to the goal than the last defender. I blew offside as i thought he gained an advantage from where he was even though it was a defensive error that fed him the ball. I surmised that even though the first defenders kick of the ball was deliberate the second defender had not made an intentional play and was just unlucky he became the defelection. No one questioned the decision but was incorrect or incorrect. I thought it came down to advantage gained from deflection.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Chris,

as described it appears you were incorrect, sorry! There was no basis for considering him gaining an advantage what this was a gift from the opposition thank you very much!

There is NO offence here, as the ball was NOT LAST TOUCHED by a team mate the attacker's position is not relevant.

If that deflection was off another attacker. even as an accidental touch it WOULD place him offside positioned thus he can not be involved.

However a deflection of the ball off the defender by another defender the 1st deliberate touch by the 1st defender has already reset any restriction in place on the attacker prior to the 1st defender having possession of the ball. The defection off a defending team mate changes nothing regarding the oppositions offside status

ONLY if the 1st defender had made a deliberate save could the deflection off the other defender possibly not affect the attacker's previous offside position because neither a deliberate save or deflection /rebound by the defenders will NOT reset offside restrictions for the attackers !

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Chris,
The law on offside tells us that a player can only be penalised for an offside offence if they are ''in an offside position at the moment the ball is played or touched by a team-mate ...''

So if there is no touch by a team mate (and there was not in the situation you describe) there can be no offside offence.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Chris
I regret to inform you that as described you got that call incorrect. As the ball deliberately came from the defending team there CANNOT be any offside. What you have confused is a pass from an attacking team mate that is deflected / rebounds off a defender in which case it is gaining an advantage by being in that offside position. The deflection / rebound does not reset offside. Not so when the ball is deliberately played by the defending team.
The only way this could be offside was if the ball last played / deflected / rebounded off an ATTACKER on the way to the players team mate who is penalised for offside when he interferes with play or an opponent
I suspect it was not challenged maybe because the players did not know who the ball came off or got confused?
Last season as an AR I gave a correct one of these where the defender kicked the ball strongly off an attacker in a clearance of the ball and it rebounded instantly to an attacker in an offside position. Some intital confusion about the flag until the CR informed the players that the ball rebounded off an attacker to the PIOP and then the penny dropped. Had it rebounded off a defender from a defenders clearance there could not be any offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31687
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.