Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31694

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/9/2017

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 31690

'Playing in a dangerous manner is any action that, while trying to play the
ball, threatens injury to someone (including the player themself)'

I've never called it, but if defender A is bending over to head a low bouncing ball, just as defender B comes in cleats up to clear the ball (and no attackers are near): are we to call either or both of them for dangerous play? Their actions do threaten an injury to defender A, especially.

Or do we just play on and 'have a word' after?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Barry,
it is interesting since they slightly altered the wording PIADM & specifically addressed contact as DFK upgrade it has been subject to this intense scrutiny where some think no opponent is necessary as in USA high school rules it need only be dangerous to anyone, themselves, teammate etc... I am as of yet unaware if this is true in the FIFA LOTG?

Technically the idea of two opposing players simultaneously creating PIADM conditions you could offer a drop ball and be supported in LOTG! In such cases where a player goes in on a diving header on a low ball where a defender is trying to clear the line you would arrive at a decision to who initiated what and when.

If you stopped for injury a drop ball if only teammates but to award an INDFK to the opposition for unsafe action by the teammates seems blatantly unfair to offer a scoring opportunity from a misjudged clearance as opposed to if they were fighting. I would be inclined to have a word to be careful, communicate!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Barry,
Since the slight change in the wording regarding PIADM, so that preventing an opponent from playing the ball for fear of injury is apparently no longer required, just included, it could seem that it might open up the possibility of penalising a player for PIADM when the only person adversely affected is a team mate.

However it is not specifically stated that way and I do not get the impression from any of the FAQ's, explanations of Law changes etc, that this is what the IFAB intends. I have to say I would be very surprised to see a player penalised in such a scenario. I think it would be more likely as you say, for a referee to allow play to continue (assuming there is no contact and no-one is injured). You could maybe have a quiet word to be more careful but I'm not sure even that would be necessary unless the player was doing something excessively dangerous.

The law does now allow for a direct free kick (or penalty) when a player commits a physical offence against a team mate but the only example mentioned in the FAQ's is where a player strikes a team mate so I still don't see anything to really suggest to me that a player should be penalised for PIADM involving a team mate.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
Fouls can only be committed against opponents. Now we know that the Law has been amended to penalise offence committed against team mates, referees, others with a direct free kick. What is intended there is violent conduct and all f IFABs communications have been in that regard.
So PIADM has not changed to include dangerous play against a team mate. So in your example it is play on as usual.
Think about it. How many times have we seen team mates clash into each other going for the same ball. Do we ever award a free kick for that?
Player do not expect PIADM to be called on the same team and it will cause uproar should that happen. Imagine a defender doing a bicycle kick and a team mate goes to head the same ball and an IDFK is awarded to the opponents? That is not a foul and should not be penalised.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31694
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.