Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31703

Law 11 - Offside 8/14/2017

RE: Under 12

Jonny Gray of Gibraltar , Gibraltar asks...

This question is a follow up to question 31702

Sorry, what about the fact the ball was played into his path by a Liverpool player? Even if he was clearly PIOP the original ball was not meant for him and only inadvertently put in his path via a Liverpool player?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jonny
Only deliberate plays by defenders reset offside and neither does a save. Rebound or deflection do not reset offside. I do not see a deliberate play here by a Liverpool defender only a possible deflection which is not a reset nor was the attempted save by the goalkeeper a reset either of offside.
I believe the offside was not given offside because the player looked level with the ball and therefore not in an offside position. That is the only question of debate not whether the ball was played by a Liverpool player. Had the scorer been seen clearly as ahead of the ball in an offside position then I believe it would have been called correctly as offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Jonny,
if you read Law 11 Gaining an advantage does NOT permit a PIOP from participating off a deflection , rebound or a deliberate save by the opponent!

Do not forget the offside law is exempt on the corner kick, if the ball had inadvertently been played by a defender to #3 and not #11, #3 would be fine to play the ball as NOTHING had changed. It was NOT until a new team mate touched the ball after the corner that sets in motion offside possibilities!

#3 was marginally offside at the time #11 shot the ball at the keeper which deflected off the keeper's arm onto the crossbar and down to where #3 headed it into the goal.

The goal was allowed because the CR&AR were likely unaware or UNCERTAIN 3# was PIOP at the time of the shot.

Nothing that occurred leading up to that moment is relevant as the LAST touch of the ball by the team mate sets up the positional restriction which is the shot at the goal as the ball leaves the foot of the shooter. .

And once again a deliberate save by the keeper is looked at the same as rebound or deflection in the attackers who are PIOP are STILL restricted from play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jonny,
Looking at Law 11 shows that this fact does not alter the offside equation. The law tells us that offside is only ruled out in situations where the ball is deliberately played by an opponent and that an inadvertent touch or a deliberate save by an opponent have no impact on the offside decision.

It is also irrelevant who the original ball was meant for - the intent of the touch by a team mate plays no part in offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31703
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.