Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31711

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 8/15/2017

RE: Under 19

Jagira of Jhumaru, Andar pradesh Kenya asks...

My question is '. What happen if a goal keeper throw the ball to his team mate instead of taking a goal kick ' ?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Why'd he do that?

Was he throwing it to a teammate for the teammate to place and take the goal kick? That's certainly permitted.

But was he trying to throw the ball into play instead of kicking it? Except for some small-sided youth rules, that's not permitted. A goal kick is a kick, and it must be taken according to the Laws.

Was he trying to waste time? Maybe a caution is due.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jagira
The correct decision is that the goal kick is taken properly. The ball cannot be thrown. One would have to ask why that would happen and if there was no genuine reason the referee might question it as delaying the restart which is a caution.
Maybe the goalkeeper caught the ball thinking that it was still in play and threw the ball to a team mate.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jagira,
If the referee had given a goal kick and the goalkeeper threw the ball instead then play has not been properly restarted and the referee should call play back and ensure that the goal kick is correctly taken.

If the referee judges that this was a simple mistake no further action would be required but if the referee sees it as delaying the restart the keeper could be cautioned.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31711
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.