Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31719

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/19/2017

RE: Select High School

Gerald of Owerri, Imo Nigeria asks...

Can an advantage be played for a deliberate handball?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Gerald,
According to the Laws of the Game, ''The referee [...] allows play to continue when an offence occurs and the non-offending team will benefit from the advantage ...''

Since deliberate handling is an offence, advantage can be applied to it.

The classic example of this is when a defender deliberately handles the ball to try and stop it entering the net but fails. Even though the player has deliberately handled the ball, the advantage is (or should be) always applied and the goal allowed.

In this situation, the player who handled the ball in an unsuccessful attempt to deny a goal must be cautioned.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Gerald
Yes advantage can be played on deliberate handling of the ball. The decision rests with the referee when an offence occurs and the non-offending team will benefit from the advantage being played.
In fact advantage should be applied where a player attempts to stop the ball entering the goal with his hand and fails. The goal should be awarded by playing advantage

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Gerald,
advantage is there for consideration for all fouls created by the opposition if the ball is in play INCLUDING 'handling the ball deliberately' WHICH also as a deliberate action could RESET offside parameters /restrictions for the attacking team and incurring a huge advantage by making a previously restricted player capable of taking advantage of his position legally .

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31719
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.