Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31721

Law 17 - The Corner Kick 8/20/2017

RE: College

Samer of Zahle, Beqaa Lebanon asks...

I've watched matches of FCBarcelona vs real betis and real madrid vs deportivo on 20/8/2017.
There was 4 or 5 shots that hit the posts or crossbar and then went out of play in these 2 matches, and then the possession was given to the team that took the shot; ie: messi took a shot and it hit the post and went out of play, but instead of awarding a goal kick, barcelona were given a corner kick.
Now i'm not sure if the ball hit a defender and i did not see it, but i'm pretty sure at least two of them should've been a clear goal kick.
Is there a weird rule change i don't know about, or is it just a refereeing mistake? Or maybe i am mistaken in what i saw?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I'm guessing that whatever view you had didn't show a slight touch by a defender. This stuff is Basic Refereeing 101. Something that might get missed by the crew from time to time. But very unlikely that it would happen 4 or 5 times in 2 matches.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Samer,
if during active play a player redirects a ball that goes out of play deliberately or accidentally over the goal line or touchline the restart possession is awarded to the opposing team be it a corner or goal kick or throw in.

Hitting the posts, crossbar, flags or any of the ARs or referee will not change that outcome.

Often the AR or CR are mislead by the fact he ball veers slightly and they will assume it either received a non existent touch or they miss the tic off the redirection and not award the restart correctly because they MISSED seeing it or adjudged it differently based on their angle of view !

I see many controversial restarts in these circumstances that LOOKED as if they should be awarded the other way. Sometimes a clear camera angle of a slow motion stop frame replay will show it was 100& correct or completely wrong but no referee or AR would award anything but what they perceive as correct!

Be it proven later a mistake was made so be it.

For a lesson in integrity have a look at this video to put some perspective on what is meant by our saying his decision his match his reputation! Then think if that picture DID NOT EXIST?

Esse was my mentor in this great game who I took a great deal of my own personal philosophy from based on the spirit an integrity of this man himself. There is a 5 minute video called 'The referee at the centre of World Cup storm " which is the single greatest video that shows the true spirit of integrity watch it and you will feel and understand why I love and respect this man who I hardly know personally but my life was made better for him being in it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-lNODXuA6k

Cheers
Richard



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Samer,
There has definitely not been any law change so we are left with the two options you propose. Either the officials were mistaken, or you were. Both are distinct possibilities.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Samer
No law change here. At the highest level most shots are challenged closely by an opponent. Referees try to place themselves to see contact either in a challenge or anything that happen subsequently. I suspect that the ball was touched by a defender after the shot. Rarely would a referee give a corner kick without seeing some contact. Many times by watching the reaction of players can a determination be made that there was contact or not. If a referee is close enough he might also hear contact of the ball on an opponent which helps with the visual bit.
In a recent game I gave what I thought was throw in to Red. Referee gave the TI to Blue as he saw a nick of the ball by Red that I did not see due to my position. The players accepted the referees call as it was correct and I missed the nick.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31721
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - The Corner Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.