Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31726

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/22/2017

RE: Adult

Junior kabirat of Southampton, Hampshire Uk asks...

If when I take a shot, I unintentionally hit someone with my follow through, is that a foul?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

It all depends on the circumstances. For instance if the defenders actions moved into your kicking follow through area then there is no foul as the defender has caused the action. The action could also be considered trifling if the contact is incidental. However I have seen instances where players, perhaps not on a shot, deliberately follow though after kicking the ball knowingly to kick an opponent. That is a foul and at least a caution for reckless play. I have also seen players on a challenge make late contact on the kickers kicking leg after the ball is gone which is also a foul.
There can be times as well when the execution of the shot is dangerous as seen in this video
The referee can deem that a foul of playing in a dangerous manner if there is no contact and a kicking foul if there is.
Generally on a shot the focus will be on the ball and most times there is no foul as it is just an incidental coming together with no impact on either player.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Junior ,
certainly not always but yes it can be!

what a referee sees from his angle of view will depend on his decision in cases where a follow throw contacts an opposing player. A defender can stick a foot in and get a good whack by an attacker shooting where the risk/reward action is pain for gain but no foul. It will depend on the timing and whether the action initiated to play the ball was also initiated in such a way that there was ALWAYS going to be contact of a reckless or even excessive nature by the opponent. PIADM involves no contact so if the action performed was unsafe and contact resulted it upgrades to a dfk foul I go in with a high leading foot catch the ball clean but my follow through takes me into the chest of an opponent likely a red card for excessive dangerous unsafe play

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Law 12 says, in part:

A direct free kick is awarded if a player commits any of the following offences
against an opponent in a manner considered by the referee to be careless,
reckless or using excessive force:
 kicks or attempts to kick

If the referee felt that you were not careful enough to avoid kicking your opponent, then it would be a foul. Even if you got the ball first.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Junior,
This kind of incident is what can be referred to as a YHTBT moment (you had to be there). Such an action might be considered a foul - or it might not, depending on the exact circumstances.

If the referee considers that the action was careless or reckless for instance, then that would be an offence. The law states, in part that:

''Careless is when a player shows a lack of attention or consideration [...] or acts without precaution.
Reckless is when a player acts with disregard to the danger to, or consequences for, an opponent ...''

If the referee sees it as careless it would just be a free kick, if reckless then a free kick and a caution would result. In extreme cases, as my colleagues have mentioned it could even be seen as using excessive force or endangering an opponent which could even lead to a red card.

On the other hand it could be seen as incidental contact that is minor or trifling enough to be ignored - it just depends.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31726
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 31728

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.