Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31777

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/11/2017

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,
I have one video from match Marseille-Rennes (in time 2:00). It is about foul in the penalty box.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xg8ar6N3YOU&list=PLIN0y6TbDGWyjhV4fHPjQi-UHRVLvDMFY&index=9

The referee punished this situation with a yellow card. Why?

Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Petr,
Interesting question. I presume you're asking why it wasn't a red card for Denying an Obvious Goalscoring Opportunity, rather than why was it a card at all.

DOGSO is a yellow card if it's a genuine attempt on the ball and inside the penalty area (law change this season). However, holding is excluded from that. So, if an OGSO is the situation, it must be a red. Was this foul for the use of the arms? I actually think that was minimal impact - I think the foul was for the trip as the defender kicked for the ball. I don't think there's any doubt that this was a genuine attempt on the ball.

It did deny a goalscoring opportunity (I'd argue it's an obvious one, but some may argue the other defenders could have blocked the shot), so a situation that would have resulted in a red card last year inside the penalty area is now a yellow card. That's why.

Good decision by the referee.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
The denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity red card has been changed in that if the offence is now a genuine attempt to play the ball and it results in a penalty kick, the offence is now sanctioned with a caution rather than a dismissal. The soccer world was of the opinion that the triple punishment of a red card card, penalty kick and one game suspension was much too harsh as the penalty kick restored the goal scoring opportunity. Cynical fouls such as handling, pulling back, no attempt to play the ball will still result in a dismissal.
In this situation the referee opined that the defenders attempt to play the ball was a genuine challenge hence the yellow card. If the foul was for the pull with the ball not attempted to be played then it was a red card. I suspect the referee saw a trip on the attacker with the ball retrieved and that is what he punished. I think one of the consequences of the law change is that defenders will get the benefit on doubtful challenges as genuine attempt for the ball and only cynical clear non challenges will be punished with a red card



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Petr,
The relevant section of the laws states:

''Where a player commits an offence against an opponent within their own penalty area which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity and the referee awards a penalty kick, the offender is cautioned if the offence was an attempt to play the ball''

As this would appear to have been a DOGSO offence where the offender attempted to play the ball and the referee awarded a penalty kick then a caution (yellow card) is what the laws call for.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31777
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 31782

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.