Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31782

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/12/2017

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

This question is a follow up to question 31777

One more question, please. Someone can consider this situation as promising (SPA). Is it without a yellow card then? Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Petr,
are you asking if you award a PK is there a reason to not award a caution if it was not DOGSO? If say the player was dribbling the ball away from goal in the PA and the same foul occurs then yes only the PK is necessary. In this case though it certainly was USB to STOP the attack even if you dispute the DOGSO.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
If the foul had all the conditions of a DOGSO yet it was a genuine challenge for the ball it must be sanctioned with a caution. Now the referee can also opine that it was not in fact a DOGSO with not all the conditions present so then there is no caution once the penalty kick is awarded and there was a genuine attempt to play the ball. . That is based on the following quote from the LotG (slightly redacted)
**Removal of a caution for stopping a promising attack when a penalty kick is awarded for an offence which was an attempt to play the ball is consistent with a caution, not a sending-off if the referee awards a penalty kick for a DOGSO offence which is an attempt to play the ball.**

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Petr,
If a player did not commit a DOGSO offence but instead, stops a promising attack with an offence that results in a penalty, the referee does not have to caution the player if there was a genuine attempt to play the ball.

The explanation given by the IFAB is in the last paragraph of the answer given by ref McHugh in his answer above.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31782
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.