Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31783

Law 11 - Offside 9/12/2017

RE: Rec Under 11

Nelson of Lancaster, CA USA asks...

I happened across this YouTube video, and there's a beautiful 30-yard shot at about 3:55... https://youtu.be/7MbDnCwboKM?t=3m55s

At the time of the shot, there's a white-team striker in offside position. I think it's interesting case to spur discussion when teaching referees about Law 11.

I asked a friend to zoom in and trim the video to make it easier to see. The shot happens at about 0:30 in this edit: https://vimeo.com/233426670

Should the referee have called an offside infringement?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Nelson
The decision rests on whether the Red defender played the ball or not. It looks like the defender did in fact play the ball albeit poorly in which case that play reset offside. The White PIOP was not close enough to challenge the defender for the ball so it could not be interfering with an opponent.
Had White PIOP touched the ball or challenged the defender then it would have been offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Nelson,
the offside positioned white player was NOT a factor, no offside was possible as he WAS NOT involved in active play . The red defender whether it was a deliberate play and error or not, it looks as if the ball THEN contacts the white ONSIDE player turning his back which WOULD reset offside for the PIOP white player anyway rendering him eligible given he was behind the ball, further from the goal line when his team mate touched the ball.
In my opinion at no time did it look as if the PIOP had any effect on actual plays or decisions by red. Although he did WANT to participate the fact he was too far away, did not touch the ball and did not interfere with the opponent who miskicked Easy no call
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Nelson,
In my opinion no, the referee should not have called an offside offence here. The offside-positioned white player you refer to was not involved in active play according to any of the definitions in the Laws of the Game. He did not touch the ball and he did not interfere with an opponent.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31783
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.